top of page

TNF Lions vs Packers

Week 4 of this crap! No, really I actually like doing this. Coming off a solid Thursday Night in Week 3, I do feel like the mojo might continue… Or not, I mean come on, it’s me after all.


Thoughts:


Love finally hits a wall

  • So far Love has been better than anyone expected. That is great news for the Packers. Overall he has stuck to the Packers game plan and looks like he understands the offense. However, this is Love’s first Thursday night game. I am not worried about Prime Time, more or less I am worried about the short week. The Lions aren’t a defense to be scared of, but they can rush the passer and somehow found a way to stop the run. I don’t expect 20 from Love.


Goff’s fantasy points will be fine, but it’s going to look ugly at times

  • Ole Jared isn’t known for liking a collapsing pocket. The Packers aren’t known for their pass rush, but they do have 9 sacks on the season. A shorten week means the O-line will have less time to recover. I think Goff at times is going to look head scratchingly bad.


St. Brown puts up 100 yards again, Reynolds bounces back

  • St. Brown has only found the endzone once so far but you can’t complain about what we are seeing from him. He has around 275 yards in 3 games. Goff will rely on St. Brown again and I think he finds himself with well over 100 yards. I doubt the Packers put Alexander on him all game as Brown plays much better from the slot. Meanwhile I do think Reynolds has a bounce back game. After 2 solid performances in week 1 & 2 the goose egg in week 3 hurt. Considering it doesn’t look like he ever played on the stat sheet his injury might have been bigger than we knew.


Fade Christian Watson, start Doubs & Reed

  • Watson coming back from a hamstring is expected to play Thursday. A short week doesn’t matter for a guy who hasn’t played all season. For me, Watson is a guy I leave on my bench. First game back and I just don’t see him playing enough snaps. Doubs is worth throwing in your WR3 slot or FLEX. Overall he has a chance to shine. The Lions don’t have great CBs or DBs for that matter. Doubs could really be a thorn in the Lion's “paw” (ha!). Reed, I think, finds the endzone at some point in this game. If Watson is back it’s even more likely.


If Jones plays, he’s a scary start, but do it… you can cut Dillion at this point

  • Dillion has been horrible, you can him… ok on to Jones. Aaron Jones is a tough sell, but considering where you probably drafted him and how great he looked in week one I think you have to suit him up for this matchup. If you're scared off, I get it, but at this point I feel he has a floor of 10.


The Rookie TE’s shine

  • Thursday Night games look bad most of the time because the offense simplifies their game plans. It makes sense, less time to prepare means easier play calling. Love and Goff will rely on quick passes from time to time, but both Musgrave and Laporta are down field threats as well as safety blankets. Look for both to give you a solid TE line.


If Montgomery plays, he’s a flex play, Gibbs… I think we see something special

  • Montgomery hasn’t looked great, as of yet, but you will take nearly 11 points each week he played. He’s a solid Flex play in this matchup. Gibbs however, I think he takes off to the moon this week. I like the matchup and the idea of allowing him to shine. I am thinking 25 points.



Winner: Lions by the hair on the chinny chin chin

  • I don’t see a blowout in this game, I see the Lions and the Packers trading blows for the majority of the night. Big plays on both sides will happen. The Packers have the better defense but really they haven’t been fully challenged outside of the Saints which Carr didn’t finish the game. I do think the Packers defense gets a few takeaways making the game look closer than the stat sheet will appear. The Packers might want revenge for last year being knocked out of a chance for the playoffs but I don’t see that playing a huge factor since Rodgers is gone.





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page